16 Julia Cameron Quotes to Inspire You to Write (About Anything!)

Becki Brown
5 min readApr 3, 2022

A Spiritual, Intuitive Approach to Creativity

Julia Cameron is the modern mother of approaching creativity as a spiritual act. She views creative expression as intuitive, presenting it not as something we’re trying to do, but as a process of allowing.

“Positive black man listening to music with wireless earphones and taking notes in diary on street”- Ketut Subiyanto
Photo by Ketut Subiyanto from Pexels

She has been integral to my journey of reclaiming the writer within me, so I figured I would gather up some of her quotes that’ve inspired me and humbled my approach to the act of creation.

Hopefully they’ll stir something inside you as well, at the very least reminding you that creativity is your birthright, sown into your being.

(Note: All bolding has been done by me for emphasis.)

1. “If I was ‘making something up,’ I was straining to reach for something that might be beyond my grasp. If I was ‘getting something down,’ I was taking direction from a higher source.”

  • Friendly reminder that “a higher source” is whatever you want it to be.
  • I like to think of this “getting something down” as a download, as listening, receiving. It’s a very different process than the straining to write something clever/interesting/insightful/whatever.

2. “I came to believe that creativity is God’s…

--

--

Becki Brown

A reluctant optimist, I use writing to talk myself down from the perpetual threat of existential crises. more musings @ https://beckibrown.net/